Our Origins

About NTU

Aerial view of the NTU academic campus.

Nanyang Technological University is one of the 3 universities located in Singapore, and prides itself on being a research-intensive university with globally acknowledged strengths in science and engineering. NTU is ranked among the world's top 100 universities by the Times Higher Education-QS World University Rankings 2008.

Today, NTU has four colleges with 12 schools, and three autonomous entities, the National Institute of Education, the S Rajaratnam School of International Studies, and the Earth Observatory of Singapore. It is dedicated in providing high-quality global education to more than 21,700 undergraduates and 9,400 graduate students.

NTU's main 200-ha garden campus - housing Singapore's largest on-campus residence infrastructure including 16 halls of residence for undergraduates and a graduate hall - is located in the southwestern part of Singapore and will be the Youth Olympic Village of the inaugural Youth Olympic Games in 2010.

About Singapore

Singapore at night.

Singapore is the smallest nation in Southeast Asia, located just below the tip of the Malay Peninsula.

Due to its small size, the Republic of Singapore is considered a microstate, and is one of the 3 surviving sovereign city-states in the world.

Since gaining independence from British colonial rule a mere 44 years ago, Singapore has rapidly bloomed into a dynamic cosmopolis.

Singapore is currently ranked as the 5th wealthiest country in terms of GDP per capita.

Its population is highly diverse, multi-racial and multi-religious, as it is home to a Chinese majority, and large populations of Malays, Indians and other peoples. This makes Singapore one of the most culturally harmonious and successful cities in the world.

NTU@iGEMcc 2009. Some rights reserved.