Team:Brown/Links Acknowledgements


We would like to thank the following individuals without whom this project would not have been made possible:

  • Dr. Gary Wessel, for his invaluable advice, unremitting patience, continuous encouragement and most of all, tremendous enthusiasm for our project.
  • Graduate students Adrian Reich, iGEM Adviser, and Diana Donovan, for their continuous guidance and experimental support throughout the project.
  • John Szymanski, iGEM alum, for his original competent cells protocol and generous assistance in the lab.

  • Adella Francis, for her consistent and generous administrative assistance for Brown iGEM teams past and present.
  • John Cumbers, Founder and hardcore supporter of Brown iGEM Teams.

  • The PRIMO Lab, for their generous assistance in research protocols and laboratory facility use.
  • The Barnea Lab, for the use of their laboratory facilities.
  • The Faculty Panel, for its invaluable support and advice.

  • The Brown UTRA Program, for undergraduate summer research funding at Brown University.
  • Brown University Departments of Biology and Medicine, Engineering, Computational Biology, Molecular, Cell Biology, and Biochemistry.
  • Neil Parikh, Kate Jacobs, Rima Shah, John Szymanski and Aaron Glieberman: Former Brown iGEM Team Members who helped train and guide us, setting a high standard for all future iGEM Mentors.

  • Dr. Guido Paesen, Centre for Ecology & Hydrology, Oxford: for providing the initial inspiration to propose a project concerning the practical implications of a histamine binding protein, and also for generously sharing rEV131.
  • Dr. Loren Looger, Howard Hughes Medical Institute: for the use of his computational protein design program to calculate mutations that would transform Tar’s aspartate binding pocket to one that selectively binds histamine.
  • Dr. Masayori Inouye, Rutgers University: for his generous provision of Tar-EnvZ.
  • Dr. Luciano Marraffini, Sontheimer Lab at Northwestern University, for the provision of plasmid pLM6, a shuttle vector between S.epidermidis and E.coli.
  • Dr. Reinholb Bruckner, for the provision of shuttle vectors PRB474 and PRB473.